What does the Bible say about ISIS?

Standard

Beautifully put. I’ve often wondered over the last two years, as I reflect on the items in the news, and have been confused as to what my response should be. I’m challenged as I think about Jonah, and how he faced the terror in his life. And now I look to God in light of this article to see how I should face terror in this present day.

God made this day, and his mercies are new every morning.
Amen.

Home-cooked Jesus

First and foremost, nothing in this blog or in anything else I say is intended to lessen or excuse the acts of terror which have been wrought by ISIS.  They are evil.  They are evil of the highest order.  But how should Christians view them?  For that, I’d like to turn to Jonah.  I’ve recently been translating the book of Jonah.  Over the next few weeks I’ll be posting a few verses of that translation at a time with some detailed explanation of my translation decisions.  Hopefully this will help substantiate some of the claims I’m about to make.

Jonah was called to prophecy to Nineveh, the capital of Assyria, because their evil had risen up to God (Jonah 1:2).  Here are some of the things we know about the Assyrians.  They were evil.  They were evil of the highest order.  Nothing could excuse their actions.  This is helpful when…

View original post 807 more words

One thought on “What does the Bible say about ISIS?

Leave a Reply

