Order In The Court

Standard

Whether it is a stranger passing by, an acquaintance, or our own best friends, we are guilty of judging others. It is a daily habit; one that has been formatted into our lives from the very beginning. When I distance myself and survey the feelings and thoughts that run through my head I feel astounded that I could be so hateful. When did it become my responsibility to decide what is right and what is wrong for these people? Truthfully, it hasn’t become my responsibility and never will. Yet I take it upon my shoulders to carefully critique the words and actions of others; people who are just trying to live their everyday lives. The way people dress, the way they act, and the way they speak will all fall prey to my terribly judgemental human ways.

 

I disgust myself by creating the idea that I am a good person when, in fact, I am the complete opposite. I am good on my own terms, and because of that I judge others on the basis and guidelines that I have created for myself. I am good in the way that I have created ‘good’ to be in my head. Yet only God is good. He, the Creator and Holy One, will judge fairly, with the mercy of a loving God.Who am I to decide that because certain people act or speak they way that they do that it is not good enough? When did it occur that everyone should act, think, speak, and do as I do? I judge by the ways of the world; the confused and highly prejudiced ways of the world. But our loving God, who has filled my heart is helping me see what is wrong with my ways. He is showing me little by little what it means to love others, rather than see them through the delusional eyes that I call my own.

 

James 2:12 – 13

 So whatever you say or whatever you do, remember that you will be judged by the law that sets you free. There will be no mercy for those who have not shown mercy to others. But if you have been merciful, God will be merciful when he judges you.

Leave a Reply

